A few things in life are as frightening as getting injured in a car accident. Sadly, mishaps are not rare on the busy roads of Vermont. This is an at-fault state, which means that if an accident happened because a driver was at fault, they are liable for the losses endured by others. After getting injured in a car accident, it can be hard to understand what to do next. For your help, here is an overview of the laws in Vermont with regard to auto accidents. 

Report the accident

No matter how overwhelmed you feel, always call the police from the accident scene. Vermont laws make it mandatory for drivers to report an accident if someone is injured. You are also required to report the crash if the total property damage is estimated to be worth $3,000 or more. Stay at the scene and don’t forget to take pictures. Document everything that you can on your smartphone. 

Deadline for car accident lawsuits

You have three years to file a lawsuit against the driver at fault after a car accident in Vermont. The deadline starts from the date when the accident happened. If you lost a loved one, you have two years to start a wrongful death claim from the date of death. If you miss the deadline, the court will typically won’t take your case. 

Comparative fault rules

If you were also at fault to an extent, you can still sue the other at-fault party, provided your fault is not more than theirs. Also, you won’t get the entire settlement given to you. Fault share determines what a driver gets from the compensation. Let’s say that you got $10,000 in a settlement and were also found to be 10% at fault. In this case, you can only get $9,000. 

Get an attorney

No one wants to admit fault after a car accident, and the insurance company would want to pass the blame. It would help if you got an attorney on your side at the earliest to negotiate your claim better. Lawyers know what it takes to discuss the settlement and can ensure that the insurance tactics don’t become a hindrance. You don’t have to pay an attorney immediately for hiring them. Much like in other states, lawyers in Vermont only charge a fee when they win a car accident lawsuit for the client. 

Don’t let the other party deny what you deserve. Call a lawyer to work on your claim.  

Click Here

Previous articleWhat Happens If You Get Involved In A Car Accident With A Drunk Driver
Next articleRussia Ukraine Conflict Hits Historic Low

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here